Every one of us has gone through that phase where we have made huge email blunders like accidentally hitting reply to all, sending a message to the wrong person or forgetting to attach a file or maybe some other reason.
Gmail originally launched the “Undo Send” feature in March 2009, but it was hidden as an experimental “Labs” feature.
When you enable Undo Send, you’re able to “unsend” an email up to ten seconds after you hit the send button. Gmail just delays sending briefly so you have a moment in case you change your mind.
In the web-based version of Gmail, you can activate the “Undo Send” option by tapping on the gear icon at the top right and selecting “Settings” from the drop-down menu. Under the general settings, make sure that ”Enable Undo Send” is check-marked.
You will notice that the number of seconds can be changed between 5, 10, 20 or 30. The “Undo Send” feature will remain activated for your account if you switched it on while it was still an experiment.
Undo Send is not currently available on mobile phones so you’re out of luck if you want to withdraw an email you sent via your phone. But Google said it will roll out the feature to mobile in the future but didn’t elaborate on the timeline.